Only 8 of 33 Provinces Require Living Wage

According to a recent announcement by the Ministry of Manpower and Transmigration, only 8 of Indonesia’s 33 provinces have provincial minimum wages that fulfill the requirements for a “living wage.”  Those provinces are North Sulawesi, North Sumatera, South Kalimantan, Central Kalimantan, South Sulawesi, Bengkulu, DI Yogyakarta and Jambi.

The Minister of Manpower and Transmigration, Muhaimin Iskandar, suggested that wages that provide a living wage could be negotiated between unions and employers.  He also suggested that the provincial minimum wages should be seen as a social safety net providing a floor for wages and not as a benchmark for industry wages, which is still often the case in Indonesia.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s